Announcement 2020-133 - California Wildfires (DR-4558-CA) – Mendocino and Stanislaus Counties

FEMA Declared Disaster in California

FEMA has added Mendocino and Stanislaus Counties to the list of impacted counties that were previously included in the FEMA declaration, California Wildfires (DR-4558-CA), dated August 22, 2020. This declaration has an incident date of August 14, 2020, and an end date of September 26, 2020.


Please note that Mendocino was previously declared under California Wildfires (DR-4569-CA), on September 4, 2020, and addressed in Announcement 2020-125, for a different wildfire.


NewRez announcements 2020-123, 2020-116, 2020-115, 2020-107, 2020-105, 2020-104 and 2020-098 previously addressed the impacts from this disaster.


Requirements in the Following Zip Codes

The following zip codes are eligible for closing or fundings and will require either an inspection or appraisal as noted below. Refer to the Disaster Policy for full requirements.


Conventional and VA Loans

The following zip codes will require an inspection or appraisal for conventional and VA loans, as applicable.


Zip Codes Eligible for Closing or Funding
with Inspection or Appraisal per the Disaster Policy


·         95490



·         95313

·         95360

·         95363

·         95387


The remaining zip codes in the above counties (with the exception of 95428 in Mendocino, Announcement 2020-125) will not require an appraisal or inspection for conventional and VA loans, but will still require:



  • Borrower attestation, signed and dated, that there is no damage and they agree to the closing and funding of the loan
  • Evidence of acceptable insurance policy in place



  • Veteran’s Certification, signed and dated:
  • I have inspected the property located at ____________and find its condition now to be acceptable to me. I understand that I will not be charged for any disaster‐related expenses and now wish to close the loan.
  • Evidence of acceptable insurance policy in place


FHA and USDA Loans

Closings and fundings are eligible in Mendocino and Stanislaus Counties and an inspection or appraisal will be required for FHA and USDA loans in accordance with the Disaster Policy.


As with all disasters, the affected areas are not definitively confirmed until FEMA formally designates such areas, which occurs following the completion of the incident and an assessment of the damage.  As a result, we will continue to monitor FEMA announcements for impacted areas in order to update any additional impacted counties.