Announcement 2019-041: South Dakota Severe Winter Storm, Snowstorm, and Flooding

On June 7, 2019, FEMA announced a Major Disaster Declaration pertaining to the recent severe storms and flooding in South Dakota, with an Incident End Date of April 26, 2019.

As of today, fifteen (15) counties and Indian Reservations have been identified and designated for Individual Assistance from FEMA. Below is a list of the currently declared areas.

  • Bennett
  • Bon Homme
  • Charles Mix
  • Cheyenne River Indian Reservation
  • Dewey
  • Hutchinson
  • Jackson
  • Mellette
  • Minnehaha
  • Oglala Lakota
  • Oglala Sioux Tribe of the Pine Ridge Reservation
  • Rosebud Indian Reservation
  • Todd
  • Yankton
  • Ziebach


If the effective date of the appraisal or appraisal alternative on or prior to the April 26, 2019 Incident End Date, an inspection is required in accordance with the FEMA Declared Disaster Policies and Procedures and product profiles prior to closing or funding the loan.


As with all disasters, the affected areas are not definitively confirmed until FEMA formally designates such areas, which occurs following the completion of the incident and an assessment of the damage. As a result, we will continue to monitor FEMA announcements for impacted areas in order to update any additional impacted counties.